|
June 12, 2005 [Last Updated: June 26, 2005 ] Micheal Maddison Agency aka Moda Model Management Agency aka Moda Models in Dallas (www.www.modamodels.us) Malek Madison (www.malekfoto.com)On another internet board, a model posted (Posted: Sep 20 2004, 05:04 PM): "Has anyone heard of a Micheal Maddison Agency, reportedly of Richardson, TX? I received an email from them via Aquamatrix site inquiring about the kids for 'building' their children's division. The email listed their license and I did look it up and verify it but cannot find any other reference to this agency." The response (Posted: Sep 20 2004, 08:01 PM) was: "As you know, there [sic] State Talent ID is # 395.
They appear to be working Unsolicited comments received June 12, 2005 referred to the Moda Models talent agency. A check on the TX talent agency license database provided the following info: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
http://www.license.state.tx.us/LicenseSearch/ The talent agency ID for Moda Model in Dallas is license #395. This information appears to indicate Micheal Maddison Agency is the dba name for Moda Model Inc. A month later, the Austin Models and Talent Board included the following post (Posted: Oct 25 2004, 03:02 PM): "Just a word of warning here....I was contacted thru Aqua Matrix by a "Michael Maddison Agency" about whether the kids had representation. I replied they did, followed by questions as to how much work they were getting etc. Anyway when I responded that if he was asking if I was happy with their representation, that I was, he responded back that if I was interested in a good photographer to contact......www.malekfoto.com. On the 'contact us' of this site it lists the same email address that the initial contact from the "Michael Maddison" agency email....so I would say they are one and the same. Seems to be a bit of a 'conflict of interest' here?" A review of the Whois database for malekfoto.com shows it is registered to . . . urdreams@michealmaddison.com at 405 south waterview dr, Richarson, TX 75080. An online ad on modelingpage.com: Jul-31 David- "modeling jobs" The phone number 214-565-0884 is the same phone number on
--- The phone number (214) 995-2539 from the TDLR talent agency database for (see above) was --- Moda advertised an internship program at an internship ad site: Home > Search
Internships > Detail Responsibilities: Intern/Assistant will be responsible for assisting the Previously, a similar ad appeared at the same website for internship programs with the exact same business address: Home > Search
Internships > Detail Moda Models was also advertising a model scout position, but when you clicked on the Moda link, it includes the name of another company: Home > Search
Internships > Company --- The phone number at www.malekfoto.com (214-682-1949) matches the phone number on an ad for Maddison Photography (note uncommon spelling of "Maddison," two 'd's, in Dallas:
© 1998-2004 Malek Photography, Inc. All rights reserved. Pricescope Directories Based on the above information, there appears to be a very strong link between Moda Models fka Micheal Maddison Agency and Maddison Photography nka Malek Photography. ----------------- June 12, 2005 [Last Updated: June 26, 2005 ] Moda Model Management Agency aka Moda Models in Dallas (www.www.modamodels.us) Malek Madison (www.malekfoto.com)Moda Model Management Agency Agency Name: Moda Models Market: Dallas Texas Lisc. None (none pending according to Austin Department of records) Start Date: April 2005 Violation: Charging new talent high "setup" fees for signing on to agency and using their own in house photographer for all the talents "portfolio needs." This agency started less then two months ago under the name MODA Models http://www.modamodels.us. They are going to large events, mostly concerts through out Dallas, and collecting information from "potential talent" usually in the several hundreds at one time. Then throughout the week they are scheduling "casting calls" at their offices at South Side Lofts, http://www.southsideonlamar.com/ The founder is a photographer by the name of Malek Madison, his website is: http://www.malekfoto.com. As you will see the addresses correspond with each other from the "agency" and the lofts, it's the address where the photographer lives. Once they schedule talent for the casting calls the put the talent through an interview process from a very attractive "former" model that builds credibility for the agency and establishes that she/he knows the industry and their potential. They then proceed to tell the talent they have potential and they have a "great presence." They later call the talent to confirm their interest and tell the talent they they would like to "sign" talent on a certain day. They designate days for "signings" and get as many people to sign on the talent agency for a "Registration Fee" of $500 which includes full setup, pictures, comp cards, etc. They do this because they have an "in-house" photographer which is Malek but this agency has no clients to get the talent work. They are using a systematic approach in accomplishing new signees, they have Recruiters (they go out to events and collect information), Telemarrketers (1 to 2 people that call new talent to schedule for casting), The Agent (former model that explains talents potential), Closer/New Faces Director (Person in agency that closes signing and collects money). Most of the people involved are college interns that don't understand how the industry works, so they believe they are interning with a legit Talent Agency, they are working hard and no (or very low) cost for the opportunity to work with this new "upcoming" agency. They are using pressure tactics and sense of urgency to get people to "sign on" because spots are limited being that they are new agency, it's a once in a "lifetime opportunity," so people sign up so they don't loose the opportunity to be part of this new "upcoming agency." They are also requesting that talent pay cash and I believe even might be giving a discounted rates for cash. Sincerely, Anon |
![]() |
||||||||
|
Under Investigation: The inside story of the Florida Attorney General's investigation of Wilhelmina Scouting Network, the largest model and talent scam in America. by by Les Henderson Crimes of Persuasionon
|
![]() ![]() Don't be a victim! |
||||||||